История черепашьего гнезда

Treasure Beach - второй по величине район гнездования морских черепах на Ямайке.

Когда вилла была построена в 2016 году, строители подружились с местными собаками. Однажды один из них осторожно уронил маленькую черепаху у своих ног и указал им следовать за ним, там у пляжа они нашли гнездо Ястребов. Строители помогли убедиться, что они добрались до океана. В следующем году один из наших сотрудников, Зеб, пришел на работу, чтобы найти десятки маленьких черепах, плавающих в нашем бассейне (к счастью, это соленая вода!). Он также позаботился о том, чтобы они смогли безопасно пройтись с пляжа в океан (так они отпечатывают, где они родились).

Сезон гнездования - с июня по ноябрь, а Treasure Beach Turtle Group организует ночные туры, чтобы вы могли увидеть их вблизи! Все свойства береговой линии в этот период освещают свет, поэтому черепахи направляются к морю, а не к дороге.

Photos: Treasure Beach Turtle Group

Пожалуйста, посетите Музей естественной истории в заливе Билли, пока вы здесь. У них есть много информации о местной дикой природе, и проект по сохранению черепах основан здесь. Вы также можете увидеть дельфинов и ламантинов, если отправитесь в путешествие на лодке вдоль нашего побережья. Просто спросите Зеба, и он организует это для вас.

Video credit: Villa Elia

hello@turtlesnestja.com

+44 778 6688833 on WhatsApp

new turtle gp logo.png
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Trip Advisor Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

The Story of Turtles' Nest

Treasure Beach is the second largest sea turtle nesting area in Jamaica.

When the villa was built in 2016, the builders made friends with the local dogs. One day one of them gently dropped a baby turtle at their feet and indicated to follow him, there by the beach they found a nest of Hawksbills. The builders helped make sure they made it to the ocean. The following year one of our staff members, Zeb, came into work to find tens of baby turtles swimming around in our pool (luckily it's salt water!) He also made sure they were able to safely walk from the beach into the ocean (so they imprint where they were born).

The nesting season is June to November and the Treasure Beach Turtle Group arranges night tours so you can see them up close! All beachfront properties keep their lights dimmed in this period, so that the turtles head towards the sea and not the road.

Photos: Treasure Beach Turtle Group

Susan, one of our staff members, with the Jamaican Prime Minister Andrew Holness when he stayed at Turtles' Nest.

 

Please visit the Natural History Museum in Billy's Bay while you are here. They have lots of information about local wildlife and the turtle conservation project is based here. You can also see dolphins and manatees if you take a boat trip along our stretch of coast. Just ask Zeb and he will organise it for you.

Video credit: Villa Elia